“Jones-ing” for a Solution: Commercial Street Surveillance and Privacy Torts in Canada

Article, Other literature type English OPEN
Hargreaves, Stuart; (2014)
  • Publisher: Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute
  • Journal: Laws,volume 3,issue 3 7,pages1-22 (issn: 2075-471X)
  • Related identifiers: doi: 10.3390/laws3030388
  • Subject: law | StreetView | privacy | Google | tort | K | privacy; surveillance; tort; StreetView; Google; Ontario; Canada; law; internet | Canada | Ontario | surveillance | internet
    • jel: jel:F42 | jel:E62 | jel:F13 | jel:D78 | jel:K0 | jel:E61 | jel:K1 | jel:K4 | jel:K2 | jel:K3

While street surveillance technologies such as Google Street View are deployed with no discriminatory intent, there is selective scrutiny applied to the published imagery by the anonymous crowd. Disproportionately directed at women and members of ethnic minority groups,... View more
  • References (59)
    59 references, page 1 of 6

    1. See for example Google Street View World. Available online: http://google-street-view.com/ (accessed on 20 April 2014).

    2. See also Street View Hacks. Available online: http://www.streetviewhacks.com/ (accessed on 20 April 2014).

    3. See also Google Sightseeing. Available online: http://googlesightseeing.com/streetviews/ (accessed on 20 April 2014).

    4. Half Naked Sunbathing Girls on Google Street View. Google SightSeeing. Available online: http://googlesightseeing.com/2007/05/half-naked-sunbathing-girls-on-google-street-view/ (accessed on 23 April 2014).

    5. Why Blur That? StreetView Fun. Available online: http://www.streetviewfun.com/2011/whyblur-that/ (accessed on 24 April 2014).

    6. Nice Bikini 3. StreetView Fun. Available online: http://www.streetviewfun.com/2013/nice-bikini3/ (accessed on 24 April 2014).

    7. DoxySpotting. Available online: http://doxyspotting.com/faq/ (accessed on 20 April 2014).

    8. A Drug Deal Caught From Every Angle. Gawker. Available online: http://gawker.com/5004469/ a-drug-deal-caught-from-every-angle (accessed on 24 April 2014).

    9. Priceless: Getting Arrested on Street View. Google Street View World. Available online: http://google-street-view.com/getting-arrested-on-google-street-view-priceless/ (accessed on 20 April 2014).

    10. The Bad Part of Town. Vice. Available online: http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/the-bad-part-oftown (accessed on 24 April 2014).

  • Metrics
    No metrics available
Share - Bookmark