The construction of the Gothic Priory Church of Hexham\ud

Part of book or chapter of book English OPEN
Alexander, Jenny (2013)
  • Publisher: Maney Publishing
  • Subject: NA | DA

The priory church of Hexham which survives from the late 12th to early 13th century is an ambitious building of some size that derives its architectural design from\ud buildings in the north of England and Scotland. The choir and transepts were planned together but there is evidence in the fabric that a change was introduced during the building of the north transept, and it is suggested that this was due to the replacement of the master mason. The construction sequence can be understood from a detailed examination of the fabric, and from a survey of its masons’ marks.
  • References (21)
    21 references, page 1 of 3

    18. P. Draper, The Formation of English Gothic: Architecture and Identity (London 2007).

    19. L. Hoey, 'Pier Design in Early Gothic Architecture in East-Central Scotland, c. 1170-1250', in Medieval Art and Architecture in the Diocese of St Andrews, ed. J. Higgitt, BAA Trans., xiv (Leeds 1994), 85.

    20. Hoey, 'Pier Design (as n. 19), 95 n. 14.

    21. The apse was in the fourth bay from the east, Hodges, Guide (1913) (as n. 9), 32-34. The lack of alignment between the piers and responds at the west end of the aisles, most noticeable on the north, can be attributed to the construction of the aisle walls before the apse had been removed.

    22. Construction of the north side seems to have been more piecemeal, with little consistency between the masonry of the spandrels.

    23. Masons' marks are usually associated with piecework, since masons on regular wages had less need to record their output for a pay-master. See J. S. Alexander, 'Masons' Marks and the Working Practices of Medieval Stonemasons', in Who Built Beverley Minster?, ed. P. Barnwell and A. Pacey (Reading 2008), 21-40. Of the eleven masons who worked on the piers, only two are not found elsewhere in the building. Repairs to the piers may have distorted the evidence, but it is clear that one was on site for some time as his work can be seen on seven piers, whereas the other only worked on one and may therefore have only worked for one season.

    24. R. Fawcett, Scottish Medieval Churches (Stroud 2002), 330. Fawcett has reconstructed the unaisled presbytery at Jedburgh with a similar elevation to Coldingham, although without the upper shafts: R. Fawcett, Scottish Abbeys and Priories (London 1994), 50.

    25. R. Fawcett, 'Arbroath Abbey: A Note on its Architecture and Early Conservation History', in The Declaration of Arbroath: History, Significance, Setting, ed. G. Barrow (Edinburgh 2003), 50-85. William the Lion, founder of Arbroath, was also a patron of Hexham: Priory of Hexham (as n. 2), xv.

    26. Fawcett, Abbeys and Priories (as n. 24), 44.

    27. It is most obvious above the north-east crossing pier, the equivalent area above the south-east pier has been disturbed by the later cutting in of a corner shaft.

  • Metrics
    0
    views in OpenAIRE
    0
    views in local repository
    73
    downloads in local repository

    The information is available from the following content providers:

    From Number Of Views Number Of Downloads
    Warwick Research Archives Portal Repository - IRUS-UK 0 73
Share - Bookmark